top of page
Search

Creating the Logo



I was very specific about how I wanted the Art as Catharsis logo to look, it was inspired by the way I had seen artist's signatures recreated on gift shop merchandise at places such as the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam. I have always loved the work of Picasso and Matisse and their sweeping signatures too, I felt that the title of the film should be signed like a signature with a personal and artistic touch.


I began the process by writing out the title and then broke it down in to letters, I created pages and pages of charcoal letters and circled the ones I liked best until I cut them out and pasted them together to create a final composition.


Chris Fernandez did a fantastic job in transferring my drawn out sketches in to a graphic that had a strong hand-drawn feel and realistic texture whilst still remaining just smooth enough and legible. Initially I thought it would be smoother, but during the process I realised that the charcoal made it feel as tactile and handwritten as it does here. It took some trial and error, but the final product is perfect in my eyes!




To see more of Chris' work, find him at: http://www.chrisfernandez.co.uk/ or https://www.instagram.com/c4fernandez/ He's also a filmmaker who has worked on some fantastic shorts!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page